Charity subtypes


A further definition allocated to identify a charity’s purpose. There are 14 specific ‘subtypes’ that are utilised.

  1. Advancing health
  2. Advancing education
  3. Advancing social or public welfare
  4. Advancing culture
  5. Advancing religion
  6. Promoting reconciliation, mutual respect and tolerance between groups of individuals that are in Australia
  7. Promoting or protecting human rights
  8. Advancing the security or safety of Australia or the Australian public
  9. Preventing or relieving the suffering of animals
  10. Advancing the natural environment
  11. Any other purpose beneficial to the general public that may reasonably be regarded as analogous to, or within the spirit of, any of the purposes mentioned in the subtypes above.
  12. Advancing public debate (promoting or opposing a change to any matter established by law, policy or practice in the Commonwealth, a state, a territory or another country).
  13. Health Promotion Charity
  14. Public Benevolent Institution

Giving Guide enables a user to search for charities under each charity subtype.


About Us

Integrity, honesty and unbiased assessment are at the core of Giving Guide’s mission. The charity sector is important to the economy and culture of Australia, We believe independently assessing the accountability, transparency and effectiveness of the sector beyond what is currently available is important to it's future.

Giving Guide anticipates enhancing the level of governance and transparency in the Australian charity sector. An independent charity advisor would benefit the sector by helping charities consider exceeding the existing governance standards of the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC) to the benefit of donors.

More Articles

Find a Charity

Contact us

Have a question or interested in making a suggestion? Please get in touch.

Get in Touch

Searching the over 50,000 charities in Australia

Refine Search